Top Conservatives on Twitter #TCOT Makes it to GOP House Speakers Twitter

Posted Posted in John Boehner, Nancy Pelosi, Top Conservatives on Twitter

Boehner, congressional leaders change Twitter titles in Web change-of-power

In twin moves reflecting their new roles in the next Congress, Reps. John Boehner (R-Ohio) and Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) modified their official handles on Twitter.

Pelosi, the outgoing Speaker of the House, modified her Twitter name to drop her title, changing from “SpeakerPelosi” to “NancyPelosi.”

Boehner,meanwhile, transformed from “GOPLeader” to “SpeakerBoehner,” reflecting his assumption of the top spot in the House on Wednesday.

Pelosi’s account sought to downplay the downgrade, seeming to joke that followers should “rejoice” that her Tweets would be easier to retweet or copy to one’s own account – now that her handle was two characters

Her new account tweeted:

I’m now @NancyPelosi – 2 characters shorter than @SpeakerPelosi. RTers rejoice!

Boehner’s communications director, Kevin Smith, noted the change on his account, adding a “tcot” tag meant to flag the tweet for other conservatives on Twitter:

Check it out … @GOPLeader Boehner is now @SpeakerBoehner #tcot

The change in Twitter names is essentially a small one, though they serve as one 21st century signal of the change in power in the House.

If voters only knew what impact Twitter and #TCOT has had on organizing the RIGHT. The #TCOT newly designed website is here.

I am positive there will be a book.

Top Conservatives on Twitter – #TCOT is Back

Posted Posted in Michael Patrick Leahy, Top Conservatives on Twitter

Top Conservatives on Twitter

I am happy to report that after a hiatus, the Top Conservatives on Twitter website has returned. It is here. The Twitter hashtag is #TCOT

In just a few years, Twitter has changed the conservative movement and thanks to Michael Patrick Leahy (Facebook) whose idea was #TCOT, social networking conservatives are making a difference in American politics.

Please check out the list and go here to join