American Debt Linit,  American Economy,  John Boehner

The Boehner Debt-Llimit Plan GOP Whip List

The Hill has an updated list for either this morning’s vote or one which could be postponed if the votes are not there.

House Republicans are scrambling to come up with the votes to pass Speaker John Boehner’s (R-Ohio) new plan to raise the nation’s debt ceiling.

While they have some work ahead of them, House GOP leaders are starting to pick up more yes votes. On Wednesday, several Republican members who had been undecided earlier in the week said they are leaning toward yes, including Reps. Marsha Blackburn (Tenn.), Bob Goodlatte (Va.), Rob Woodall (Ga.) and Cynthia Lummis (Wyo.).

Yet, it appears that the vote will be a nail-biter as a slew of Republican members are firmly opposed to the bill.

If all Democrats vote no, Republican leaders will have to minimize defections to about two dozen members.

Here is the list who are opposed:

House Republicans against/leaning no on Boehner plan (22)

  • Todd Akin (Mo.) — Senate hopeful is a no
  • Justin Amash (Mich.) — Not shy about breaking from GOP leaders
  • Michele Bachmann (Minn.) — Against raising debt ceiling; voted against CCB*
  • Paul Broun (Ga.) — Against raising debt ceiling; voted against CCB*
  • Jason Chaffetz (Utah) — Possible Senate candidate is a no
  • Jeff Duncan (S.C.) Told, a South Caroline media outlet, that he is a no
  • Jeff Flake (Ariz.) — Senate hopeful “can’t support the current bill”
  • Phil Gingrey (Ga.) — A definite no
  • Louie Gohmert (Texas) — Planning to vote no
  • Paul Gosar (Ariz.) — Leaning no
  • Trey Gowdy (S.C.) — Leaning no
  • Tom Graves (Ga.) — Firm no
  • Andy Harris (Md.) — Strong proponent of BBA**; Indicated to Baltimore Sun he is a no
  • Tim Huelskamp (Kan.) — Firm no
  • Jim Jordan (Ohio) — RSC chairman is strongly opposed
  • Steve King (Iowa) — Firm no
  • Connie Mack (Fla.) — Voted against CCB*; firm no
  • Mick Mulvaney (S.C.) — A no vote
  • Ron Paul (Texas) — Against raising debt ceiling; voted against CCB*
  • Dennis Ross (Fla.) — Leaning no, according to National Journal Daily
  • Steve Southerland (Fla.) — Lawmaker told AP he is a no
  • Joe Walsh (Ill.) — Said on MSNBC he is a no