American Debt Linit,  American Economy,  John Boehner

Updated 11 AM EDT: The Boehner Debt-Llimit Plan GOP Whip List

Whipping The Boehner Proposal To Raise The Nation’s Debt Ceiling

The nonpartisan Congressional Budget Office reported Wednesday that House Speaker John Boehner’s revised proposal to raise the debt ceiling deficit reduction plan would reduce budget deficits by about $915 billion over 10 years through FY2021. With the bill slated to hit the House floor Thursday, Boehner is trying to secure the necessary number of votes needed to pass the measure.

A vote originally scheduled for Wednesday was delayed late Tuesday amid disunity within the GOP conference and a previous report from the CBO that Boehner’s plan would accomplish cuts $150 billion below the $1 trillion target House Republicans want.

National Journal has compiled a list of Republican Members who have committed to voting no, and those who have declared they are undecided. We’ve also included the stances of notable yes votes as well as the positions of notable Democrats, based on the recent House vote on the GOP’s “Cut, Cap And Balance” measure. If no Democrats support the Boehner plan, the maximum number of votes the House speaker can lose and still pass the measure is 23. Right now, 19 Members have committed to voting no.

Here is the revised NO GOP List:

NO (19)

Rep. Roscoe Bartlett, R-Md.
Rep. Trent Franks, R-Ariz.
Rep. Louie Gohmert, R-Texas
Rep. Phil Gingrey , R-Ga.
Rep. Jim Jordan, R-Ohio
Rep. Todd Akin, R-Mo. 
Rep. Tim Huelskamp, R-Kan. 
Rep. Jason Chaffetz, R-Utah
Rep. Michele Bachmann, R-Minn. (multiple news reports) 
Rep. Ron Paul, R-Texas 
Rep. Joe Walsh, R-Ill.
Rep. Tom Graves, R-Ga. (National Review
Rep. Jeff Landry, R-La. (National Review)
Rep. Dennis Ross, R-Fla.
Rep. Paul Broun, R-Ga.
Rep. Jeff Duncan, R-S.C. (The Hill)
Rep. Steve King, R-Iowa (The Hill
Rep. Steve Southerland, R-Fla. (The Hill)
Rep. Chuck Fleischmann, R-Tenn. (Washington Post)


Rep. Tim Scott, R-S.C.
Rep. Trey Gowdy, R-S.C. (The Hill)
Rep. David Schweikert, R-Ariz.

One Comment